Skip to content

Should I use TablePlus to browse and edit Postgres on Mac?

  1. TablePlus
  2. Postico
  3. DBeaver Community Edition

3 apps · 8 factors

Scored for the goal: Browse and edit a Postgres database on Mac

Quick answer

From the sourced cells below · nobody pays for a position

  • Postico

    Best fit for this goal

    Postico

    100% fit

  • DBeaver Community Edition

    Free to use

    DBeaver Community Edition

    Free

Compare

One judgement per cell. Click a row to read every app’s answer; click a cell to open that answer’s sources.

TablePlus
TablePlus
100%Database Compatibility unknown
Postico
Postico
100%fit
DBeaver Community Edition
DBeaver Community Edition
100%Database Compatibility unknown
Features
Database CompatibilityHas PostgreSQL★10 enginesPostgreSQLGreenplumCockroachDB+1Basic relational support
Grid editingYes★✓✓✓
Result BrowsingFilter · Stream · PageTable filter bar supports…–
Connection OptionsDirect · SSH · SSLTCPIPLocalhost+14Password · SSH tunnels
SQL EditorComplete · Format · RunTab completionpgFormatterExecute all+5Formatting · scripts
Schema ManagementTable structure editingTable creationColumn editingData types+7ERD editing: PRO
Purchase
Current price$79 once +5€27 once +6Free
Product
What it doesModernThe native Mac appUniversal database tool and…
✓has it–no source found!sources conflictClick a cell for the full answer

Head to head

Two apps side by side, full answers, nothing truncated. Swap either side.

TablePlus
$79 once
Free+ · Sub · OncePayment
1–4 devicesDevices
VS
Postico
€27 once
Limited free · OncePayment
1–10 devicesDevices
Features

MySQL · PostgreSQL · SQLite · Microsoft SQL Server · Amazon Redshift · MariaDB · CockroachDB · Vertica · Redis · Cassandra; supported versions not specified.

Database CompatibilityRead both

PostgreSQL 8.0+; Amazon Redshift; Greenplum; CockroachDB. Recent release notes document PostgreSQL 18 and CockroachDB 26.2 compatibility work. Redshift/Greenplum version ranges are not stated. Vertica and other PostgreSQL wire-protocol databases may execute SQL, but most other features do not work because their catalogs differ.

✓Yes

Yes — edit PostgreSQL table cells or query-result rows by double-clicking inline or using the row sidebar; commit with ⌘S. JOIN-result editing is documented from v6.4.2; PostgreSQL partitioned-table updating was fixed in v6.4.4. Free use allows 2 open tabs, 2 workspace windows, 2 filters and 1 metrics board; a paid license removes these limits. Exact primary-key requirements and non-updatable table/view/query restrictions remain unverified.

Grid editingSame
✓Yes

Yes — add and edit rows in the table grid, with a foreign key picker and row detail sidebar. Tables without primary keys can be updated, as confirmed by a changelog fix. Read-only connections block changes. Query-result editing and further table/key restrictions remain unverified. Evaluation has no time limit; a paid license unlocks all features, but grid-specific evaluation limits are undocumented in the sources found.

Filter loaded rows by column/operator, with case matching; asynchronous streaming; Load more for paged drivers; configurable row limit. Sorting and numeric row/size limits unspecified.

Result BrowsingRead both

Table filter bar supports custom SQL, “is in list,” and right-click actions to include/exclude matching values. Option-click column headers for multi-column sorting; choose NULLS FIRST/LAST from the header menu. Table browsing is paged; the export guide says full-table export includes rows beyond the displayed page, though that section is marked outdated. Multiple SQL statements expose separate result sets through a popup. Tables are counted by default; “always count rows” can be disabled for

Direct connections via form, URL import or CLI; SQLite files open directly. Username/password; command-generated passwords for PostgreSQL, MySQL, MariaDB and Redshift; SQL Server Entra ID (Token Only) via Get from CLI. SSH tunneling; SSL/client key, certificate and CA files for supported drivers. PostgreSQL SSL: PREFERRED, DISABLED, REQUIRED, ALLOW, VERIFY-CA, VERIFY-FULL; MySQL: PREFERRED, DISABLED, REQUIRED, VERIFY-CA, VERIFY-IDENTITY. Snowflake, BigQuery and libsql URLs additionally supported

tableplus.com
Connection OptionsRead both

Direct TCP/IP/local connections and SSL/TLS; connection URLs using postgres:, postgresql:, redshift:, postico:, postgres+ssh:, postgresql+ssh:, postico+ssh:. Passwords and .pgpass; SSH tunnels with password/private-key authentication, including rsa-sha2-256/512. Pre-connect scripts generate AWS IAM credentials for RDS/Redshift or Microsoft Entra ID tokens for Azure PostgreSQL and can override libpq connection parameters, including TLS certificate/key settings. Scripts require configured CLI/auth

Keyword autocomplete with saved-query expansion; auto-uppercase keywords and close braces/quotes; beautify/minify/uglify with Standard or tabular layouts; prompted parameters in six syntaxes; run current/all queries or saved SQL via Import SQL Wizard. Parameters default off and substitute literal input (quote strings yourself); tabular indentation fixed at 10 spaces.

SQL EditorRead both

Tab completion plus Ctrl-Space/Esc completion popup; local pgFormatter (Ctrl-F), configurable through ~/.pg_format; multiline indentation. Execute current statement/selection or all statements; multiple selected statements run in an implicit transaction and roll back together on failure; switch result sets with a popup. Multiple SQL files/folders, tabs/windows, autosave and Dash lookup. Development build 9788 adds positional ($1, $2) and named (:name) parameters; stable-channel availability is

Table/schema quick navigation; GUI table-structure editing with SQL preview and commit/discard. SQL Editor queries run directly, outside preview.

Schema ManagementRead both

Graphically create/alter tables; add/edit columns, types, defaults, indexes and constraints, including primary keys, NOT NULL and foreign keys. Foreign-key picker and references to partitioned tables; NULLS NOT DISTINCT indexes; PostgreSQL 18 generated virtual columns. Function/stored-procedure editor. DDL view renders table/view creation SQL, pending ALTER statements and final-state previews. Limits: incomplete database-feature coverage; not suitable for backups (use pg_dump); omits public s

Purchase

Website: Free indefinitely (2 tabs, 2 workspace windows, 2 advanced filters, 1 metrics board); Basic USD 99 once/1 device; Standard USD 129 once/2 devices (reduced from USD 198); Team USD 79 once/seat, 1 device/seat, minimum 3 seats (USD 237). Paid versions work forever with 12 months of updates; optional update renewal USD 59/device; extra device USD 79. Taxes may apply. Mac App Store (US): Mac purchase not established; the located listing sells the iPhone/iPad app. Setapp: Mac USD 14.99/month/

Current priceRead both

Website: free evaluation with no time limit; Personal USD 69 / EUR 62 once (one person, 3 devices); Student USD 29 / EUR 27 once (1 device); Commercial USD 99 / EUR 90 once per device; Team USD 799 / EUR 730 once (10 devices). Paid website licenses are perpetual for Postico 2.x; personal/student VAT included, commercial/team VAT additional where applicable. Mac App Store (US): USD 69.99 once under standard App Store licensing, with Family Sharing. No monthly/yearly plans listed. Discounted owner

Product

Modern, native client with intuitive GUI tools to create, access, query & edit multiple relational databases: MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite, Microsoft SQL Server, Amazon Redshift, MariaDB, CockroachDB, Vertica, and Redis.

tableplus.com
What it doesRead both

The native Mac app for PostgreSQL

eggerapps.at

Releases

Each dot is a release. The hatched bar runs from the last release to today; its color says whether that gap is normal for the app.

No dated changelog found for these apps yetThat does not mean they never update. Once a dated public release record is found, the rhythm shows here.

Score

A reference score weighted by the priorities set for this research. Nobody pays for placement.

Reference score

Priority-weighted · 100% evidence · 2 must-have · 0 important

AppScorePaymentPriceEvidence
Postico
Postico
10ptsFree · One-timeFree · $698 / 8
TablePlus
TablePlus
5ptsFree · One-timeFree · $998 / 8
DBeaver Community Edition
DBeaver Community Edition
5ptsFreeFree7 / 8

Sources

Where every claim comes from, when it was checked, and how to report an error.

How this report was made

Every cell links to the page it came from. Nobody pays to change a score.

Report ID
TMA-1RTKJJY
Sources
39
Verified cells
23/24 (96%)
Last checked
Oct 18, 2026
Reading saved
≈ 2.5 h

Scoring

Must-have factors weigh 5 and important ones 3; only these are scored, or the first five factors if none are marked. An app earns a factor's weight only when a cited source confirms it, and unknown cells count for no one. A pick is named only when the lead is larger than everything still unresolved could swing. Reading time assumes about 4 minutes per source. Full methodology

Corrections

No corrections yet.